Ten Trinity Spring Athletes Named To NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Team

Ten Trinity Spring Athletes Named To NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Team

Hartford, Conn. - Ten Trinity College spring athletes were named to the 2013 New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) All-Sportsmanship Team for their positive contributions to sportsmanship.  Baseball senior Evan Sternberg (Glen Ridge, N.J.), softball senior tri-captain Kerry McCarthy (Andover, Mass.), women's lacrosse senior Haley Thompson (Ipswich, Mass.), men's lacrosse senior Ben Khouri (Louisville, Ky.), men's tennis senior tri-captain Jordan Kemp (Bedford, N.Y), women's tennis senior co-captain Hillary Hoyt (New York, N.Y), women's rowing junior Catherine Guariglia (Glen Rock, N.J.), and men's rowing senior Rachel Howe (Wellesley, Mass.), men's outdoor track and field senior tri-captain Tony Chen (Newton, Mass.), and women's outdoor track and field senior tri-captain Annie Penfield-Cyr (Underhill, Vt.) represented Trinity on the team.

The All-Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to sportsmanship. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, and spectators. They display sportsmanship not only as a participant in their sport but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. Through their positive actions and examples, these student-athletes inspire others to adhere to the quality of sportsmanship that the NESCAC and the NCAA endorse.

A total of 16 individuals on the All-Sportsmanship Team also earned All-Conference accolades this spring, with three representatives from women's track and field and four from women's tennis. Six student-athletes received All-Sportsmanship recognition for the second straight year, including McCarthy of Trinity softball.  Senior Annie Penfield-Cyr of Trinity women's track and field is also making her second All-Sportsmanship Team appearance, having been named to the 2011 team.  Members of the 2013 Spring All-Sportsmanship team who were named to All-NESCAC Second Team include Hillary Hoyt of Trinity women's tennis.

The Spring All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the NESCAC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). The NESCAC SAAC serves as the liaison between the student-athletes of NESCAC member institutions and conference administrators. The committee provides a voice to represent the concerns of all student-athletes and to discuss issues impacting student-athlete well-being. The NESCAC SAAC represents all students who participate in intercollegiate athletics and promotes and celebrates student-athletes achievements.

more information